



PRE-COMPETITION FACTS

OTEPÄÄ (EST)

Ladies'10 km Individual Classic / Men's 15 km Individual Classic

COMPETITION COURSE

Ladies: 2 x 5.0 km. Intermediates: 3.8 – 7.5 km

Men: 3 x 5.0 km. Intermediates: 2.5 - 8.8 - 12.5 km





PREVIEW LADIES 10 KM CLASSIC

Otepää and 10km classic - Justyna Kowalczyk's favourite combination

The ladies' 10km classic style will be held for the 10th time in Otepää. Justyna Kowalczyk has claimed most victories here with four. Marit Bjørgen is on two, while three athletes have one victory each.

Justyna Kowalczyk celebrated her 50th World Cup victory in Pyeongchang, three years after her previous victory.

Kowalczyk has won the 10km classic in Otepää on four different occasions. No other athlete has won the 10km classic in the World Cup more than three times in the same city.

In total, Kowalczyk has won 18 World Cup races in the ladies' 10km classic, most of all athletes. Marit Bjørgen has 13 victories and Virpi Kuitunen 11.

The 14 individual distance races (not including overall Tour standings) held in the World Cup this season have seen seven different winners. Stina Nilsson (3) has won most. Heidi Weng, Ingvild Flugstad Østberg, Jessica Diggins and Marit Bjørgen follow with two wins each. Krista Pärmäkoski and Justyna Kowalczyk both have one win.







In the 2015/2016-season, the victories in the 21 distance races were shared between only five athletes. In 2014/2015, the wins were also shared between five different athletes.

At five of the last seven championships (World Championships and Olympic Games), the winner of the final 10km race ahead of the Championship also won the gold medal in the same event a few days later.

This has happened on four of the last five occasions in the women's competition, the exception being Marit Bjørgen in 2014, who only finished 5th in Sochi after winning the pre-OG race.

Last seven pre-WCH/OG 10km and their performance in the championship

Year	Discipline	Winner Pre (place WCH/OG)	Winner WCH/OG (Place Pre)
2015 (WCH)	10km Free	Charlotte Kalla (1)	Charlotte Kalla (1)
2014 (OG)	10km Classic	Marit Bjørgen (5)	Justyna Kowalczyk (5)
2013 (WCH)	10km Free	Therese Johaug (1)	Therese Johaug (1)
2011 (WCH)	10km Classic	Marit Bjørgen (1)	Marit Bjørgen (1)
2010 (OG)	10km Free	Charlotte Kalla (1)	Charlotte Kalla (1)







PREVIEW MEN 15 KM CLASSIC

Never a gold medal for winner of final 15km World Cup race

The men's 15km classic style will be held for the 10th time in Otepää. Lukas Bauer has won most races her as he emerged victorious on three consecutive editions from 2008-2010. Six athletes have one win each in this event here.

Bauer (5) and Jaak Mae (3) are the only two athletes with more than two podiums in this event in Otepää.

The last time this event was held in Otepää was in January 2012. Dario Cologna won, ahead of Bauer and Devon Kershaw.

Gunde Svan has won a record seven World Cup events in the 15km classic style, one more than Bjørn Dæhlie, Axel Teichmann and Bauer. Alexey Poltoranin and Vladimir Sminov have five victories each.

Dario Cologna has four World Cup victories in this event and a total of 12 podium finishes. The latter is just one behind Pål Gunnar Mikkelsplass on top of the all-time list with 13 World Cup podium finishes in this event. Gunde Svan and Alexey Poltoranin have also 12 World Cup podium finishes in the 15km classic.

Poltoranin has finished on the podium in 10 of his last 15 World Cup starts in the 15km classic event.

Martin Johnsrud Sundby has also won four World Cup races in this event. Sundby has won three of the last five 15km classic races held in the World Cup.







To win the final World Cup distance event prior to a championship does not seem to be a good idea in the men's classic. While four of the last five female winners have managed to win the gold in the championships a few days later, none of the last nine male winners have managed to repeat the win from the final test.

In fact, the only gold medallist who performed better than 5th position in the final World Cup event was Dario Cologna ahead of his two Olympic gold medals in 2010 and 2014. Cologna was third in the last World Cup event in 2010 and second in 2014.

Of those who have won the final World Cup event prior to a championship, only two from nine won a medal a few days later - Johan Olsson in 2013 and Tobias Angerer in 2007, both in freestyle.

Last nine pre-WCH/OG 15km and their performance in the championship

Year	Discipline	Winner Pre (place WCH/OG)	Winner WCH/OG (Place Pre)
2015 (WCH)	15km Free	Finn Hågen Krogh (5)	Johan Olsson (5)
2014 (OG)	15km Classic	Alexander Legkov (DNS)	Dario Cologna (2)
2013 (WCH)	15km Free	Johan Olsson (2)	Petter Northug (14)
2011 (WCH)	15km Classic	Daniel Richardsson (42)	Matti Heikkinen (24)
2010 (OG)	15km Free	Giorgio Di Centa (10)	Dario Cologna (3)
2009 (WCH)	15km Classic	Anders Södergren (18)	Andrus Veerpalu (9)
2007 (WCH)	15km Free	Tobias Angerer (3)	Lars Berger (DNS)
2006 (OG)	15km Classic	Jens Arne Svartedal (44)	Andrus Veerpalu (9)
2005 (WCH)	15km Free	Martin Bajcicak (10)	Pietro Piller Cottrer (21)

